Student of the Week

Student Of The Week: Imani Walton

This week I was very excited to interview such an outgoing, and outstanding girl. Current sophomore Imani Walton was chosen by her teachers as student of the week. She is always willing to lend a helping hand where it is needed. She is very academically dedicated, and enjoys playing sports as well. Imani is an amazing athlete and an amazing friend. Keep reading to find out a little more about her.

  1. What has been your favorite part of your Sophomore year so far?
  • My favorite part of Sophomore year is attending games, going to fun events, and spending time with my very few friends.
  1. Which class has been the most challenging for you?
  • The most challenging classes for me have been U.S History and Geometry due to the amount of working and little understanding of the work.
  1. What is your favorite sport?
  • My Favorite Sport is, of course, Track and Field.
  1. Do you have a favorite teacher?
  • I have two favorite teachers, Ms. Wiencek and Ms. Volcensek
  1. How have you been able to keep up with all your homework and games?
  • I use my resource and study hall time wisely. Anytime I have left in between practices I do what I can and finish the very little homework I would have left at home.
  1. What differentiates the Dominican community from all others?
  • Dominican is a small community which makes it easier to make lots of friends and get to know each other. Everyone is friendly. It’s like a little family. The teachers are able to focus on individuals more rather than going off of a whole group leaving people behind.
  1. If you could change one thing about Dominican what would it be?
  • If I could change one thing about Dominican it would be the dress code.
  1. How many sports do you play? Why?
  • I play 3 sports at Dominican. I do cheer, basketball, and Track and Field. I play basketball because it’s fun and a very competitive sport, and I am EXTREMELY competitive. I run track because I enjoy competition and I have been doing this since I was 6 years old. Plus, it runs in the family. Cheer is a sport that I admire because I LOVE to dance and I have been cheering since 4th
  1. What college do you want to attend? why?
  • I do not know what college I want to attend at the moment. But I am looking at a HBCU to continue my studies.
  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?
  • If I could travel anywhere in the world, I would go to Brazil, the Bahamas, or Jamaica

 

P/C: https://www.jamhops.com/cheer

About the author

Jaselena Haliburton